Google Says Some Users’ Private Videos Were Accidentally Sent To Strangers

Google Says Some Users’ Private Videos Were Accidentally Sent To Strangers

Google has admitted it accidentally sent private videos of some users of its Google Photos service to strangers, blaming a technical glitch behind the incident.

Lots of people use Google Photos to back up videos and photos stored on their phones. Google offers an option for people to download a copy of their private data, called Google Takeout. But, when people used Google Takeout to download their own content, they were accidentally given, in some cases, videos uploaded by people they don’t know.

“We are notifying people about a bug that may have affected users who used Google Takeout to export their Google Photos content between November 21 and November 25, a Google spokesperson said.

Google Photos has over one billion users, so even a small percentage will impact a significant number of people.

Google has apologized “for any inconvenience this may have caused.”

“These users may have received either an incomplete archive or videos – not photos – that were not theirs. We fixed the underlying issue and have conducted an in-depth analysis to help prevent this from ever happening again. We are very sorry this happened,” the spokesperson added.

Share This

COMMENTS

Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )