Assembly by-polls counting: TMC’s Tapan Deb Singha wins Kaliaganj seat

The Trinamool Congress has won the Kaliaganj Assembly seat in West Bengal by 2,304 votes, said an Election Commission official on Thursday.

Tapan Deb Singha defeated Kamal Chandra Sarkar of the BJP.

The ruling party is also ahead of its rivals in Kharagpur Sadar and Karimpur Assembly segments after the ninth round of counting of votes for the by-polls in West Bengal, EC officials said.

Pradip Sarkar of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) was leading over his nearest rival Prem Chandra Jha of the BJP by over 13,000 votes in the Kharagpur Sadar seat.

TMC’s Bimalendu Singha Roy was leading over his nearest rival Jay Prakash Majumdar of the BJP by over 27,000 votes in the Karimpur Assembly seat.

Counting of votes began at 8 am on Thursday amid tight security in three Assembly seats of West Bengal where by-polls were held on November 25.

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )